Camshaft Sensor Problems.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Camshaft Sensor Problems.

Post by Guest on Sat Feb 02, 2013 7:33 pm

This is my first time on here, having registered about ten minutes ago. I have owned Hi-Jets since 2004 and still have my first one - an "S" reg 16v in bright red --- well it was when I bought it --- looks pretty dowdy now 45000 miles later and most of it on the Isle of Wight at that. Its coming up for !00,000 now and easily tops 90mph even when I put a Romahome body on the back. I have 9 other Hi-Jets to keep it company-- 2 tippers, 3 MPV 6 seaters, 2 vans and 2 Pick-ups besides the Red one. I bought an 02 plate pickup 7 months ago and it has -- er, had proved as reliable as my Red Beast. 3 weeks ago the starter packed up so I put another on and 3 days later that failed so put another on, then that afternoon the propshaft joint fell to bits so I put a prop on. The next morning I came out to start it and it was turning over ok but would not start. Checked for a spark and no spark. The fuel pump pressurises when I turn the ignition on. It was diagnosed as " the crankshaft sensor " but as it doesnt have one I figured it had to be the one on the back of the camshaft. I put another one on and away it went -- for two days-- then exactly the same thing-- so put another working one on robbed from one of the other vans and that wouldnt work at all. So I am now on the fourth sensor and scared to go out in it lest same should happen. It starts up and you drive somewhere and leave it all day or overnight and Bingo -- no spark or fuel obviously as the two are linked I believe. Has anyone of you Great Hi-Jet fans got any idea what the hell is going on or has come across this before cos I for sure havent got a clue. Hellllpppppppp PLEASE.( Woody 50.) My mobile is 07968 160015 or 07890 115010 if you care to contact me. You can text me and I will call you back to save your charges or email on this wonderful Forum. Many thanks ( in anticipatio