Daily work horse turned rolling project/restoration!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Daily work horse turned rolling project/restoration!

Post by Lab_Rat835 on Mon Sep 16, 2013 1:56 pm

Hi all, as some of you already know I only got my van last week, I got her cause I am a mobile mechanic and I need a small van to carry all my crap!.
I had full intensions of just keeping her going and ploding along till something else cheap pops up but as with most ppl that have these fell in love instantly (plus the missus hates it and pissing her off is always a plus point LOL)
Anyway I know these do tend to rot fairly bad so when I picked her up I made sure I went though it and all was good so deal was done and home we came,
The mirrors where awfull so looked at changing them for some that I had lying about (see my other posts) but still not convinced about the look so I set about building a rack to mount my roll cab. when I started moving stuff out of the way i noticed a bit of rust on the offside rear arch so attacked it with screwdriver to see how bad It was, as expect couple of holes nothing major, I thought it best at this point to get her in the air and have a proper attack to see whats hidding under the mud, to my suprise appart from a bit of surface rust she is solid and has never been welded (apart from hole in arch) so I have now decide instead of just patching up and keeping her going I am going to do a rolling resto,
Ill post some pics now of what I done so far but I finished my lunch now and the sun is out so Ill crack straight on and get some more pics up later

Danny

As you can see mud was thick and i feel a bit of gentlemen sausgae for not digging deep before buy

Im a bit of a pussy when it comes to sparks and kaboomy things so tanks coming out, plus ill be able to clean and paint everything and fix the awfull brake pipe repair

Tank is not in best shape but should clean up ok
Lab_Rat835
Centurion

Back to top Go down