Opinions please!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Opinions please!

Post by andy pyke on Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:51 pm

OK, I need some wise words.

I bought a 1996 993cc MPV on ebay for £500. It doesn't appear to have a cooling problem and my mechanic has had it up on ramps and told me that mechanically at least its pretty sound. I should point out that its done 100k miles already. There is of course a list of things that need doing, and that's where I am in two minds.

If I do all the little (and not so little) jobs that need doing, the whole "project" is going to cost me as much as a newer 1.3 MPV with lower miles. So the question is should I sell what I've got and spend the cash on a newer 1.3 or spend it doing up what I've got?

The list of things I need to fix is quite long:


[*]

  • No headliner or headliner board (if that exists)
  • Leaking sunroofs (full of sealant but still...maybe condensation?)
  • Side door hinges dropped. "Probably middle hinge" I hear you say...
  • Rear wiper doesn't work
  • Rusty sill needs welding
  • Rear door card missing
  • Sliding door card missing
  • Sliding door handle
  • Back door fairly badly dented
  • Needs oil filter, cam belt service (about £250?)
  • Paintwork is pretty manky, especially on roof
  • Window mechanisms: only one works
  • Rubber seals on doors need changing
  • window rubber bit (to stop rain getting into the door mechanism) is useless
  • Heater is really noisy
  • Speedo is manky...looks like its had water in it and disintegrated
  • Clutch is slipping a little bit



Apart from that she is fit as a fiddle!   pale

The bizarre thing is that at 46 (until Friday at least!), this is the first time in my life that I have tried to fix anything vaguely mechanical and so far I have found it really satisfying. Obviously all I've done is really simple stuff like working out which bit of the door handle snapped off (that little plastic bar on which the thing pivots, I think) that stops it from working, but for me that's a breakthrough. Can you believe my wife is getting jealous because I took my tea and toast out and sat in my van on Saturday morning thinking about what to do next?!

I break out in a sweat every time I read one of your articles on cooling system disasters as that's way beyond my league...

Anyway, long ramble over.. should I stick at it with the 993cc or twist and look for a newer 1300?
[/list]

andy pyke
Centurion

Posts : 270
Join date : 2014-11-09
Age : 49
Location : Maidstone

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by scotia on Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:00 am

i always buy cars that need some work done because they are cheaper and i have got a couple of friends who are mechanics and have a small workshop/business.
i am planning on taking the hijet on trips trough europe so i would have replaced a lot of parts like headgasket/belts/clutch anyway because i want it to be reliable.

a lot of parts are difficult to get and are expensive.

by the time i take it on holliday next year i will almost have a new hijet  Embarassed


so if you dont mint spending loads of money and time on it you could keep it and fix it up.
you will be a mechanic by this time next year and will now your van from top to bottom.

and if you buy another 1.3 hijet who says that wont break down..
a lot of things in your list arent that expensive to fix up
if you buy a 1.3 and it starts to overheat in time it will cost you a lot too

so make the choice yourself i say
i can see both options as good or bad ..its just how you look at it.. Neutral


Last edited by scotia on Fri Dec 26, 2014 9:55 am; edited 1 time in total
avatar
scotia
Cinquecento

Posts : 729
Join date : 2014-01-27
Age : 36
Location : twente

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by andy pyke on Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:00 am

Thanks Scotia....

So, now you have the benefit of hindsight, would you have bought the same one or do you wish you had bought a newer one with lower mileage maybe?

andy pyke
Centurion

Posts : 270
Join date : 2014-11-09
Age : 49
Location : Maidstone

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by Logi on Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:55 am

Well, my 2p worth.
I originally bought my first van to move house. Many people have done similar, my van cost £400; had no mot, and was a bit rough. It had around 120 k on it when i bought it. Never had a major issue with it other than brakes.
When i sold my old Daimler i decided to splash out on my current van, last of the cheaper road tax and only 8.5k miles. Paid £1500 for it. Has it been near 4 times better a van? Nope. And as it was expensive i expect more from it.
For me, if a Hijet runs ok and doesn't boil it's arse out, keep it and fix the rest Smile
avatar
Logi
Jet Warrior

Posts : 3596
Join date : 2011-04-07
Age : 82
Location : Kilmarnock

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by scotia on Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:42 pm

andy pyke wrote:Thanks Scotia....

So, now you have the benefit of hindsight, would you have bought the same one or do you wish you had bought a newer one with lower mileage maybe?

i would have done the same andy Laughing
i realy cant handle the stress of breakdowns verry well but looking back i am realy proud of the things i fixed myself.
in hindsight i would have done the same but would buy a cheap cuore or something to for my daily drive..
the hijet is my only car and that sucks sometimes when its not running.

like logi said low miles and a high price doesnt mean no problems.
a low miles hijet could just have been used on a estate/farm/camping ground or something like that.
avatar
scotia
Cinquecento

Posts : 729
Join date : 2014-01-27
Age : 36
Location : twente

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by waz on Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:31 pm

Mine cost me £900, went to Hungary and back in 3 day and wife travelled the UK for dog shows in it and never had a problem. I only sold it after reading all the problems with Hijets on this forum and did not want to chance the wife broke down with 3 dogs in the van.
avatar
waz
Cinquecento

Posts : 748
Join date : 2011-07-26
Location : Maidstone Kent

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by PFM on Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:37 pm

3 dogs and a wife in a Hijet is enough to give anyone a breakdown! Very Happy

PFM
Jet Addict

Posts : 1466
Join date : 2010-04-24
Age : 56
Location : East Sussex

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by waz on Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:58 pm

PFM wrote:3 dogs and a wife in a Hijet is enough to give anyone a breakdown! Very Happy

Not for me, she went with a friend to the dog shows.
avatar
waz
Cinquecento

Posts : 748
Join date : 2011-07-26
Location : Maidstone Kent

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by HighlyJetted on Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:27 pm

3 wives and a dog sound like more fun!

Back to the van.....

Before you spend a penny on it, rag the arse off it for half an hour then pull up leave it running and see what happens. If it boils up then you might wonder what your going to do.

In my worthless opinion, 993cc vans are a pain as parts are hard to find and the vans are slow.
avatar
HighlyJetted
Hijet Overdose

Posts : 5412
Join date : 2009-10-06
Age : 34
Location : Such a Dick

http://www.daihatsuhijet.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by HighlyJetted on Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:28 pm

All the best vans I've seen have been very cheap.

Some of the worst have been 1500 quid and more.

Rot is the hardest thing to sort. Along with paintwork.
avatar
HighlyJetted
Hijet Overdose

Posts : 5412
Join date : 2009-10-06
Age : 34
Location : Such a Dick

http://www.daihatsuhijet.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by andy pyke on Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:39 pm

waz wrote:Mine cost me £900, went to Hungary and back in 3 day and wife travelled the UK for dog shows in it and never had a problem. I only sold it after reading all the problems with Hijets on this forum and did not want to chance the wife broke down with 3 dogs in the van.


So you no longer have a Hijet?!

andy pyke
Centurion

Posts : 270
Join date : 2014-11-09
Age : 49
Location : Maidstone

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by andy pyke on Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:42 pm

Logi wrote:Well, my 2p worth.
I originally bought my first van to move house. Many people have done similar, my van cost £400; had no mot, and was a bit rough. It had around 120 k on it when i bought it. Never had a major issue with it other than brakes.
When i sold my old Daimler i decided to splash out on my current van, last of the cheaper road tax and only 8.5k miles. Paid £1500 for it. Has it been near 4 times better a van? Nope. And as it was expensive i expect more from it.
For me, if a Hijet runs ok and doesn't boil it's arse out, keep it and fix the rest Smile

Like your logic!

andy pyke
Centurion

Posts : 270
Join date : 2014-11-09
Age : 49
Location : Maidstone

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by waz on Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:42 pm

andy pyke wrote:
waz wrote:Mine cost me £900, went to Hungary and back in 3 day and wife travelled the UK for dog shows in it and never had a problem. I only sold it after reading all the problems with Hijets on this forum and did not want to chance the wife broke down with 3 dogs in the van.


So you no longer have a Hijet?!

No, but I like to keep my hand in as I might get another one.
avatar
waz
Cinquecento

Posts : 748
Join date : 2011-07-26
Location : Maidstone Kent

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by andy pyke on Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:43 pm

HighlyJetted wrote:3 wives and a dog sound like more fun!

Back to the van.....

Before you spend a penny on it, rag the arse off it for half an hour then pull up leave it running and see what happens. If it boils up then you might wonder what your going to do.

In my worthless opinion, 993cc vans are a pain as parts are hard to find and the vans are slow.

That sounds scary! Will I not be forcing an issue that might not otherwise occur?

andy pyke
Centurion

Posts : 270
Join date : 2014-11-09
Age : 49
Location : Maidstone

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by andy pyke on Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:44 pm

waz wrote:
andy pyke wrote:
waz wrote:Mine cost me £900, went to Hungary and back in 3 day and wife travelled the UK for dog shows in it and never had a problem. I only sold it after reading all the problems with Hijets on this forum and did not want to chance the wife broke down with 3 dogs in the van.


So you no longer have a Hijet?!

No, but I like to keep my hand in as I might get another one.

I could sell you mine cheers

andy pyke
Centurion

Posts : 270
Join date : 2014-11-09
Age : 49
Location : Maidstone

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by waz on Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:46 pm

you could !
avatar
waz
Cinquecento

Posts : 748
Join date : 2011-07-26
Location : Maidstone Kent

Back to top Go down

Dogging? 3 wives?

Post by andy pyke on Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:56 pm

HighlyJetted wrote:3 wives and a dog sound like more fun!

Back to the van.....

Before you spend a penny on it, rag the arse off it for half an hour then pull up leave it running and see what happens. If it boils up then you might wonder what your going to do.

In my worthless opinion, 993cc vans are a pain as parts are hard to find and the vans are slow.

Are the parts much harder to find? I had an idea last night. I lived and worked in Turkey for 8 years back in the 90's. Last night I had a look around some Turkish websites and there's all sorts of Hijet stuff for sale. Its a crazy idea, but maybe I could source some of the more difficult parts from there (door handles maybe?)

andy pyke
Centurion

Posts : 270
Join date : 2014-11-09
Age : 49
Location : Maidstone

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by scotia on Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:53 am

that sound like a good idea Cool
can you put up some links to websites ?
avatar
scotia
Cinquecento

Posts : 729
Join date : 2014-01-27
Age : 36
Location : twente

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by HighlyJetted on Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:20 am

I know exactly which turkish website you are on about Wink

Parts that are harder to find:-

Radiator
TPS
MAP
Top metal coolant pipe
Coolant temperature sensors
Ignition leads
Igniter

Those copy door handles are totally rubbish.


The reason the 1.3 is better for parts, is they are a more current engine. It has been put into sportraks, terios, charade, sirions, and grand moves. While the CB42 was past its sell by date even in 1997.
avatar
HighlyJetted
Hijet Overdose

Posts : 5412
Join date : 2009-10-06
Age : 34
Location : Such a Dick

http://www.daihatsuhijet.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by andy pyke on Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:02 pm


andy pyke
Centurion

Posts : 270
Join date : 2014-11-09
Age : 49
Location : Maidstone

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by HighlyJetted on Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:23 pm

Most of the new parts on there are supplied from Murat

http://www.muratautomotive.com/tr/index.php
avatar
HighlyJetted
Hijet Overdose

Posts : 5412
Join date : 2009-10-06
Age : 34
Location : Such a Dick

http://www.daihatsuhijet.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by scotia on Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:32 am

cool thanx dudes Cool
avatar
scotia
Cinquecento

Posts : 729
Join date : 2014-01-27
Age : 36
Location : twente

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please!

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum