Fusing opinion

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Fusing opinion

Post by PFM on Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:44 am

I'm going to be adding some electrical bits to my '08 Porter, mainly internal and external lights, and am planning to mount an accessory fuse-box behind the glove-box. Where's the best place to get a permanent live from or is it best to take it directly from the battery? Am not expecting the additional load to exceed 15A.

PFM
Jet Addict

Posts : 1449
Join date : 2010-04-24
Age : 56
Location : East Sussex

Back to top Go down

Re: Fusing opinion

Post by FrontBackSide2Side on Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:53 pm

I would take it from the battery if it was me, then if you leave a few spare places on your fuse box you can always add stuff easily at a later date without worrying Smile
avatar
FrontBackSide2Side
Cinquecento

Posts : 582
Join date : 2013-10-04
Age : 34
Location : Kidderminster

Back to top Go down

Re: Fusing opinion

Post by Guest on Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:31 pm

You have  the Main Fuse in a Yellow holder with clear  top just under the driver's seat in the engine bay  just roughly behind the seat clamp.
Much easier to  run it from there and you can  choose whether you tap into it before the fuse holder or after  the fuse holder.  
SIMPLES!!!
(Timed at 21-32. Not 7-32 as the stupid website says). When is this going to be fixed??

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Fusing opinion

Post by HighlyJetted on Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:47 pm

Is the time any better now?
avatar
HighlyJetted
Hijet Overdose

Posts : 5410
Join date : 2009-10-06
Age : 34
Location : Such a Dick

http://www.daihatsuhijet.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Fusing opinion

Post by Guest on Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:49 pm

Spot on Matt. Did the pictures of the Orange and Black  Bi-Jet come through?

So named Bi-Jet because of the Honda 1000CBR Bike engine in it.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Fusing opinion

Post by HighlyJetted on Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:31 pm

Nope Smile

Woody + Technology = Fail
avatar
HighlyJetted
Hijet Overdose

Posts : 5410
Join date : 2009-10-06
Age : 34
Location : Such a Dick

http://www.daihatsuhijet.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Fusing opinion

Post by Guest on Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:38 pm

Touch'e !!!

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Fusing opinion

Post by waz on Thu Nov 27, 2014 3:16 pm

Woody, I told you the easy way to do photos.
Shocked
avatar
waz
Cinquecento

Posts : 748
Join date : 2011-07-26
Location : Maidstone Kent

Back to top Go down

Re: Fusing opinion

Post by HighlyJetted on Thu Nov 27, 2014 4:17 pm

PFM wrote:I'm going to be adding some electrical bits to my '08 Porter, mainly internal and external lights, and am planning to mount an accessory fuse-box behind the glove-box. Where's the best place to get a permanent live from or is it best to take it directly from the battery? Am not expecting the additional load to exceed 15A.

I like woodies idea of hacking in under the drivers seat to the big yellow fuse.

But at the same time straight to the battery is easy too.

6 of one, half a dozen of the other.
avatar
HighlyJetted
Hijet Overdose

Posts : 5410
Join date : 2009-10-06
Age : 34
Location : Such a Dick

http://www.daihatsuhijet.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Fusing opinion

Post by Guest on Thu Nov 27, 2014 4:40 pm

Not really PFM. Means you have to clamber around underneath running a wire back to the battery cable tying it to everything in site.

My way you can take the wire through a hole drilled in bulkhead under the seat and run it under the carpet up to the glove box. 15 minutes job.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Fusing opinion

Post by PFM on Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:52 pm

Question Wasn't me!

Thanks for the suggestions. Actually, I prefer Woody's idea as it's easier. It's quite a heavy cable so I doubt what I'm likely to add will overload it.

PFM
Jet Addict

Posts : 1449
Join date : 2010-04-24
Age : 56
Location : East Sussex

Back to top Go down

Re: Fusing opinion

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum