Sportrak Opinions?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Sportrak Opinions?

Post by HighlyJetted on Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:53 am

I'm thinking of getting a 1.6 Daihatsu Sportrak jobbie for my next run around.

Anyone got any thing good or bad to say or even been in one?

avatar
HighlyJetted
Hijet Overdose

Posts : 5410
Join date : 2009-10-06
Age : 34
Location : Such a Dick

http://www.daihatsuhijet.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Sportrak Opinions?

Post by leopard_pagan on Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:50 am

i kinda doubt the pic in the link is a daihatsu.. lol...
4x4 arent they? road tax?
avatar
leopard_pagan
Admin

Posts : 1105
Join date : 2009-09-21

Back to top Go down

Re: Sportrak Opinions?

Post by HighlyJetted on Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:26 pm

ahhh shitabrick, the site doesn't let me leach images via html!

Yeah, like a little my little pony jeep thingie. Bit like a vitara but less hair dresser
avatar
HighlyJetted
Hijet Overdose

Posts : 5410
Join date : 2009-10-06
Age : 34
Location : Such a Dick

http://www.daihatsuhijet.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Sportrak Opinions?

Post by SkippyGLI on Fri Jan 15, 2010 1:22 pm

Sally & I owned a Sportrak back 1995/96. It was very heavy on fuel back then. It also seemed very high sided and got blown about alot esp at higher motorway speeds.

As it was only a 1.6 it failed as a caravan tractor and the four wheel drive mechanisum was pretty naff by modern standards (to dis-engage it you had to reverse back more than 10 feet the way you had just come Question Question ).

By far the worst point was the suspension, or rather the lack of it! It was supposed to be adjustable, but all ours did was go from uncomfortable to bloody painful. Having a removable roof was fun until the first time it rained and getting it back on wasn't a two minute job either as you need a special tool (I've still got mine Twisted Evil ). The soft top is an extra which leak even when reasonably new!

There is also bugger all room in the back - - fold rear seats up and you have enough space for half a dozen tesco's bags at most, even less if you have a dog!

The rear windows open in a odd manner that, when combined with the front windows being open, sets up 'booming' vibration that is very, very unpleasent which quickly gives you one hell of a headache.

I'd have a diesel Fourtrak over a Sportrak anyday.
avatar
SkippyGLI
Chatterbox

Posts : 71
Join date : 2010-01-06
Age : 50
Location : Exeter, SW UK

Back to top Go down

Re: Sportrak Opinions?

Post by HighlyJetted on Fri Jan 15, 2010 6:58 pm

So they're a good practical machine then?!

Glad I didn't get one in the end, I'm looking at Merc Vito's or some other similar van.

Speaking of being blown about have you ever driven a hijet on the motorway? Getting past the pressure wave infront of the HGV's is like dicing with death, in snow/slush its even worse. Its a ballancing act between either get sucked under the truck or get blown into the fastlane.
avatar
HighlyJetted
Hijet Overdose

Posts : 5410
Join date : 2009-10-06
Age : 34
Location : Such a Dick

http://www.daihatsuhijet.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Sportrak Opinions?

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum