Agent orange and electrical machine elves

Go down

Agent orange and electrical machine elves

Post by PiaggioLux on Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:59 pm

Hi all,

Just joined as I am new to the micro-van experience and my Bright Orange 2015 Piaggio Porter has a couple of interesting "features". I bought the van used in September last year and it was running perfectly but sometime during the cold European winter this year it developed what I can only describe as a few strange electrical issues. Two, in particular.

1. The horn works intermittently. Some days it works perfectly, other days it doesn't work. Relay seems fine. Seems to work better in cold weather.

2. The rear parking sensors also work intermittently. Some days they work fine, other days they don't work at all. The parking sensors seem to work in the cold weather but when it warms up they stop working.

I'm pretty decent mechanically, but not so much electrically. I don't know where to start with either of these issues. Has anyone experienced anything similar or can anyone suggest where to begin in sorting this out?

Thanks!

PiaggioLux

Back to top Go down

Re: Agent orange and electrical machine elves

Post by biofos on Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:06 am

You must have the post S85 type Porter which is popular in Europe but, unfortunately is only manufactured in LHD version so, although available in (RHD) UK, has not found huge sales.

I'd start by checking the earth at the battery end. Remove, clean off the gunge, give both surfaces a good rub with emery cloth to brighten the metal, cover in petroleum jelly and replace tightly.

Is the horn operated by a button in in the centre of the steering wheel? If so, all I can suggest is to check the little brass sprung arm that earths the horn button - it may have weakened and is not earthing all the time. You will need to remove the horn button to see it.

Bad earthing is an innate feature of Porters  Sad
biofos
Clubman

http://www.biofos.com

Back to top Go down