Tempted...

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Tempted...

Post by Mogs on Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:18 pm

Hi. Newbie here...

Tempted to purchase a Hijetta 97 camper conversion.

Does anyone here have any comments about them please?

Mogs

Back to top Go down

Re: Tempted...

Post by Logi on Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:32 pm

Hi, go for it Very Happy
Logi
Jet Warrior

Back to top Go down

Post by Mogs on Wed Nov 30, 2011 7:19 pm

Ah, temptation in the form of the devil himself. As if I need it. Hello Logi Very Happy

The object of my temptation doesn't look too bad for her years....probably better than I do.......BUT can you tell me what constitutes "normal" overheating for the Hijet? Is needing to stop after eighty miles to let her cool off for a while reasonable or should I be concerned?

Mogs

Back to top Go down

Post by rich the mechanic on Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:33 pm

Hi. It can be if not bleed properly you can get a air pocket ours the other day did about that and the needle was just about to go into the red and then it suddenly dropped and stayed ok later when it had cooled off fully it needed about half a litre of coolant but if you find it bubbles through the coolant then the head gasket has gone. I have changed the head gasket on ours five times in total for various reasons but fingers crossed it seems to be fine now but it did need a skim.
rich the mechanic
Jet Addict

http://www.thread-bare.biz

Back to top Go down

Post by Logi on Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:02 pm

TBH mine's has never been close to overheating, and it's currently well over 100,000 miles, but i think the smaller engines it's obligatory Rolling Eyes

They're really crap build quality, and have many inherant problems, but i'm just about to start a "Sooty Van Crisis" restoration thread(though more of a weldathon to get another MOT than a full blown resto) I'd be better off with many other vans but once you get one you'll put up with the probs, cos they're magic!! cheers
Logi
Jet Warrior